top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElliott Stewart

Phoenix Zine Fest and 36



(This post contains an affiliated link. If you decide to buy from the site, there's no extra cost to you, but I will get a small bit of compensation for it.)


Big news first, I got accepted to the Phoenix Zine Fest! Despite making zines for over two decades now, it'll be my first tabling event. It's virtual this year too, so anyone can check it out. I'm super hype to be a part of it. And speaking of virtual zine fests, the Sick and Disabled Zine and Craft Fair is going on right now and looks to have some pretty neat things for sale.


I recently turned 36. Previously I'd never been one to dread my birthday or resent aging, but this year I was starting to feel Some Sort of Way. Luckily it got turned around by my birthday proper, and I have a lovely day of karaoke, BBQ, records, gin, and Waffle House. I've been starkly reminded this year that some folks don't get the opportunity to become an old curmudgeon, and I've kinda scooted by the seat of my pants staying alive, so why not celebrate?


My husband's gift to me was a Sodastream, and I've been pretty obsessed with it. I'm a fiend for sparkling water, but staying a human level of hydrated would mean drinking basically a case a day. I've got a few syrups and flavorings at home, but it occurs to me that one could also make syrups in varieties of weird flavors (basil peach? rosemary apple? sarsaparilla?). So if you've got that DIY spirit, hmu with your favorite soda syrup recipe.


I had meant to have reprints of issues 1 and 2 by last week, certainly by now. I'd been printed at the UPS Store where I have my box, not out of any sort of superior quality or shining customer service but because they're closer to my house than Staples. Their website boasts a 72 hour turn around, but when I went to pick up my copies a week later, they still didn't have them ready. According to them, there's one guy and one guy only who knows how to make a copy, and he couldn't do it the one day he'd been in that week.


So I'm going to try out Best Value Copy (referral link) It kept coming up in searches and has incredibly reasonable prices. I'm nervous going in sight unseen with my print job, though. I'll give y'all my honest assessment of them once my copies get here. I don't like shilling for companies for no reason, but I do like sharing resources with folks that might be interested. So hopefully by this time next week, I'll have some new copies of the zine for everyone that didn't get a chance to snag an issue.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page